Jesus wept.

*2013 Repost*

So, I woke up this morning with some serious back pain. Like, the kind that makes your body spazz every time you move your head and creates awkward involuntary screaming noises every few minutes or so.
Kinda sucks.
Anyway. It ended up reminding me of the thing that it seems like Jesus is always telling me. Because I ended up falling in the kitchen floor like an invalid and screaming while I was trying to get a pepper, which caused my good old cat, Mr. Meowgi, to start screaming some whining noise at me. Whenever I’d scream or cry, he’d do the cat version of the same noise, repeating after me.
And it’s dumb, because I so often fail at doing even what my cat can do. He’s successfully mastered Romans 12:15, which says to “Rejoice with those who rejoice, weep with those who weep.” I mean, this is pretty vital. Even Jesus, our example, did this. The shortest verse in the Bible says simply, “Jesus wept.” (John 11:35)
For the millionth time: It’s not about coming up with an explanation for why things are the way they are. It’s not about preaching at people in their pain. See how well that went over for Job? It’s about love. That’s it. When all is said and done, love will still remain. You can theorize and explain all you want, but what will make a difference is sympathy. It requires a certain amount of grace to be able to let go of yourself long enough to put someone’s feelings on your shoulders and act from them, but Jesus wouldn’t command us to do anything that He couldn’t do through us.

Leave a Reply

