Jesus and Weird Machinist Videos

*2013 Repost*

Beloved, do not be surprised at the fiery trial when it comes upon you to test you, as though something strange were happening to you. (1 Peter 4:12 ESV)
My dad’s a machinist. He makes machines with machines, which is why we moved to the general Charlotte area. Apparently all the machinists who know what’s up live in Charlotte. 
After having been screwed over by my dad’s company that we moved for, Dad decided it was time to find a new company to work under. Thus, he is now employed at AJAX. I’ve never seen him so excited about a job. I mean, you can just see him get excited for once. He’s never been one to complain about a job, but I’m not use to seeing him thoroughly enjoying something and being hash tagging proud of it.
Anyway, he was so proud of being a part of this company that he decided to show me a video that was made in the 80s thoroughly describing the process of making steel rings. It was so tacky; I don’t know how it’s legal to exist. The music- I can’t even!
But the annoyingly awkward announcer’s voice suddenly decided to say something with some meaning. “For some, the regular process of steel ring making is not enough. For example, some may want a stronger steel ring, in which case, AJAX will place the ring in higher temperatures, leaving them to harden and become more durable. Even that may not be enough, so we increase the temperature more and leave it in for longer. And the finished product will be strong.”
I don’t even know how I could expand upon that. Today sucked for me like a lot and a lot of things I thought I’d gotten rid of years ago came back today. Buuuut. Yeah.
Look, if you’re life is sucking, Jesus wants you to be a stronger steel AJAX ring. For some, the average process might be okay. But not for you, not for a chosen one of God. He’s in control of the fire though and He won’t let it overtake you, I promise. I promise, I promise. But my promises aren’t worth a thing. His, however, are- 
“Everyone’s going through a refining fire sooner or later, but you’ll be well-preserved, protected from the eternal flames. Be preservatives yourselves. Preserve the peace.” (Mark 9:49, 50 MSG)
Leave a Reply

