This Whole Identity Thing

I know you’ve heard it. “Find your identity in Christ!” Everyone says it, especially when referring to idols. Especially idols who are of the opposite gender and make you feel happy about yourself. I say it, but just because I’m a Christian and that is what Christians say.
Except now it kinda makes more sense. So, I sorta thought about self-evaluation, and I would appreciate any reader of this to just consider this for a second.
So, finding your identity. Think about a relationship in your life that’s really, really good right now. Chances are, you probably picked someone that you friend-zoned, in which case I apologize for that misfortune. But if you didn’t pick that friend-zone person, you may have picked your best friend that you call all the time in order to scream stupid things in their ear. That’s my idea of a friend, anyway. So, if you were to identify yourself by the way that person sees you, what would your identity be?
I guess I’ll use myself as an example. Yay. Hmm. Well, I’ll use the only person in the world that I talk to regularly as my example. If I were to find my identity in that person and what they think of me, my identity would be pretty good. That person tends to think I am funny and  really Christ-focused and that I have a decent personality and that I am worth being friends with. So, I mean, that’s good right there.
Okay, think of a relationship in your life that kinda sucks a lot. What would you look like if you were to base your identity on the way that person treats you or feels about you?
If I were to find my identity there,  I would probably hate myself. According to them, I’m a hypocrite, I’m not pretty enough, my personality is annoying, my opinions don’t matter, I have to earn the right to be accepted, I’ll suck at college because I’m a failure, and I screw everything up.
Obviously, your identity in those two different relationships are drastically different, and honestly, based on fading opinions. People aren’t reliable enough for you to base your identity on their opinions.What happens when their opinion changes?
Sometimes we find our identities in what we do or how well we do it. Just like what other people think of you isn’t who you are, what you do isn’t who you are, either. So you’re really good at painting. What happens if you can’t paint anymore for some reason? Then where’s your identity? What if you’ve convinced yourself you suck at everything? Is your identity found in failure?
That’s why people have to find their identities in Christ, because he never ever changes his opinion of you or how he feels about you. However, when you find your identity  in Him, you give him permission to tell you who you are and to change your heart to match what he wants it to be.
That always pleases God.
A good way to find your identity in Christ is to remind yourself that what he says about you is truth over what anyone or anything says about you. And that means hiding His word in your heart.

Ephesians 2:19
Consequently, you are no longer foreigners and aliens, but fellow citizens with God’s people and members of God’s household,
Colossians 2:13-14
When you were dead in your sins and in the uncircumcision of your sinful nature, God made you alive with Christ. He forgave us all our sins, having canceled the written code, with its regulations, that was against us and that stood opposed to us; he took it away, nailing it to the cross.
 John 1:12-13
Yet to all who received him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God- children born not of natural descent, nor of human decision or a husband’s will, but born of God.
 John 15:15
I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.
 Colossians 3:12
Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.
 1 Corinthians 3:16
Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit lives in you?

Leave a Reply

