Understanding

A dear friend of mine is having boy problems. Who isn’t these days?
Public schoolers know that there is always that friend at school. The one who inspires you with his or her passion for Jesus when you’re convinced you’re going to go insane from chilling with a bunch of God haters all day. The one that with everything they do reminds you that Jesus set His riches in heaven aside to dwell among us, for the sake of the sinners. The one who encourages you by telling you you’re an inspiration and informs you that your laugh is attractive. That one.
Well, she came into school the other day and looked at me melodramatically and said simply, “Boys are stupid.”
She said she was worried all about a boy and texted me later asking me to pray for the love and peace of God, so I did.
It should’ve struck a bell then, but it decided to become suddenly clarified this morning, when I was looking through my quotes on Facebook, since I was adding a Frederick Douglass quote there like the literature nerd I am. There was Ephesians 3:14-21, my life verse, the one I have a dog tag of. Oh, yeah. I’m supposed to be praying for that. I’m not supposed to give up on that in my life. “…And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge —that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.”
The love of God, like the peace of God, surpasses understanding. (Phil. 4:7) So, she was asking me to pray for two things that she could never understand, but could experience. Interesting.
I started to write her a message on Facebook about it and how I loved her and was continuing to pray for her when I remembered another important verse- Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths.” Cool. It was saying that you don’t need to understand God’s love and peace in order to trust Him. He’ll make your paths for you if you submit to Him. Nice.
Well, I thought this little adventure in time was over until I started going through my news feed. Turns out another friend of mine was listening to a song with some nice lyrics, so I checked it out. Things started tying together in my mind.
This song, “When I Am Afraid” by Laura Hackett, has legit lyrics. 

“When my enemy’s surrounding me
He comes to steal my joy, my peace
I let go of my reasoning
And fall upon the Rock.


I will not build my life upon the passing sands
Of how I feel inside from one moment to the next
But I will love you Lord, my Rock, my God, my Strength
A precious cornerstone that floods of death could never shake

O For there is no peace of mind, outside of truth in Christ
For the fear is real and it’s power can kill…”

Okay, see how it’s talking about letting go of reasoning and not building your life on the passing sands of your feelings and fears and your own understanding? Look at the word understand. Under- stand. When you build your life on what you understand- on what you stand on because you know or think you know in that moment, it’s like building your house on the sand. When you’re threatened with fear and joy-killers and lies from Satan and you give in, you’re relying on your own understanding and what you can reason in that moment. But when you’re attacked and you stand firm on the Truth, you’re building your house on the Rock. You’re forcing your life to form into the mold of the firm, absolute Truth of God that will never change, despite your feelings. So I encourage you to let go of reasoning. When Satan gives you every reason to be depressed or worried or fearful or anything else that isn’t of God, let go and instead focus on loving God. Cling to the absolute rock that will not change on you. Instead, it will make a change in you. You don’t have to understand, because when you let go of what your little mind can comprehend and you trust in the Lord with all your heart, casting your cares onto Him, Philipians 4:7 says that He will guard your heart. You don’t have to keep your guard up all the time- constantly worrying or trying to reason everything out- you just have to lean on Him and let Him guard it for you. All you have to do is stop fighting His love and peace despite your lack of understanding.

Psalm 4:8 😉

Leave a Reply

